The Maynard-Burgess House
is currently owned by the City of Annapolis. It was originally
constructed by an early freed African-American, John Maynard, from salvaged
materials and structures in the 1790’s. John Maynard died in 1875 and was
survived by his wife Maria. After her death the house was sold to a former
boarder, Willis Burgess. Continually owned by two interrelated African-American
families, from about 1850-1980, the house and its residents experienced changes
in African-American lives that ran from slavery, to the Civil Rights movement,
to the present day. Halpern Architects was engaged to prepare construction
documents for a museum quality restoration of this unique historic structure.
Client: The Maryland Trust for Historic Preservation, the City of Annapolis and the Historic Annapolis Foundation.
Download project cut sheet